NZ Parliamentary Elections 2008

Ok, I’m going to retract my original prediction. It all appears to be going very much National’s way, although there are still a little over 3 weeks before polling day, on November 8th I believe.

The reason I’ve done this about turn, and decided to go with the pundits in predicting a National win, is that there seems to be an appetite for a change of government out there. It’s not so much about National or Labour as it is “let’s have someone new”. So there you have it.  John Key’s boyhood prediction of becoming Prime Minister, may well be about to come true.

The one thing I do not trust him about (and remember, I am generally pro-National), is Nuclear Power. I think he’ll have the damn things under construction, very early in his term. It would be hard to forgive that.

I admire his work ethic and results-oriented style, and I also admire the fact that he appears to be well and truly holding his own against the vastly more experienced Clark. But if he takes New Zealand down the Nuclear Path (BTW, I am no greenie),  it will be the most blatant bit of money making at our country’s expense, ever seen in our history I believe. My six-year old is worried about nuclear power coming to this country. I hope the day doesn’t arrive, when I have to tell him its here.

One response to “NZ Parliamentary Elections 2008

  1. Personally I don’t have a problem with the concept of nuclear power here in NZ, and considering our country has an extraordinarily high population growth rate I definitely think it will be inevitable at some point. I would be very, very surprised however, if National went down that road in their first term. If they did decide to have a power station built, they would have to have it rolled out well before the next election in three years time, otherwise National would run the risk of counting themselves out of the 2011 election before it even started.

Leave a Reply

